- Oldest town of Batangas – Founded April 26, 1572
- Branded as little Vigan of the South-Taal is famous for its ancestral houses dated way back 1700s. It is also home to numerous heritage structures dating from the Spanish Colonial era.
- Richest in history – Recognized by the National Historical Institute (NHI) as “Heritage Village” through its resolution no. 2 on September 30, 1987.
- Most famous in Barong embroideries – Taal is the Barong capital of the Philippines.
Marcela Agoncillo Heritage House. This house was built around 1780 by Don Andres Marino, Marcela Agoncillo’s grandfather. Marcela Marino Agoncillo is the principal seamstress of the first and official flag of the Republic of the Philippines.
Beside the house is a garden where the statue of Marcela Agoncillo was built with Philippine flags also on display. She was named as the “Mother of the Philippine Flag”.
No entrance fee here donations are voluntary for maintenance.
Don Leon Apacible House Don Leon Apacible is a successful lawyer and judge of the first instance of Batangas City. He was also a clandestine rebel in the 1890s and even served as former Finance Officer of Pres. Emilio Aguinaldo.
The house and the furnishings are clean. Antique collections are well preserved. Free Admission here.
Kitchenwares during the Spanish era
Admission fee: P 100
Gregorio Agoncillo Mansion is what they call “A mansion of cultural history”
Admission fee: P 70
PRAISE AND WORSHIP PLACES
BASILICA DE SAN MARTIN DE TOURS is the largest and one of the oldest churches in the Philippines and the whole of Asia. (Click the link for a detailed description).
Our Lady of Caysasay Shrine A very simple and old church built in 1611 out of coral stones along the banks of Pansipit River.
This chapel was erected to be the home of the Virgin Mary whose image was caught in the fishnet of a religious fisherman named Juan Maningkad in 1603 at the said river.
At the back of the church is where the image of the Virgin Mary is located.
Hagdan hagdan is actually 125 granite steps from Our Lady of Caysasay Church beside the pansipit river which leads up to the center of the town. It is now dedicated to the memory of San Lorenzo Ruiz.
Within the parameters of the shrine lies the Sta Lucia Twin Well. It is located underneath the arc with a bas-relief of the Virgin of Caysasay. The arc facade is made of coral stone and was erected upon the spot where the image was found in 1611.
The newest attraction of the town is the Butong Baywalk. A very beautiful and quiet place to relax, watch the sunset and take a stroll with friends or loved ones. No entrance fee here.
Don Juan Boodle House Taal’s first serving boodle fight food. It offers 5 types of Boodle namely: Inihaw boodle, Military boodle, Southern Tagalog boodle, Ilocos boodle and Taal specialty boodle which is the best seller.
Food are spread on a long table with banana leaf. Boodle fight participants are encouraged to eat with bare hand to make it more enjoyable.
We enjoyed our meal. So, if you want to experience unique dining experience, try Don Juan boodle house. It is located near Taal Market.
Travel tips and ideas:
- Do not go on a Monday; museums are closed for maintenance.
- Exploring by foot is just fine because most of the museums are located closely and besides, locals are very friendly.
- For a minimal fee, climb up to the Basilica’s belfry to experience a breathtaking view of the town.
- Don’t forget to drop by at Taal Market for souvenir items and pasalubong
Where to stay in Taal? Please read full blog for Paradaores del Castillo a charming boutique hotel to stay in the historic place.